Uncategorized

My Whole30

After an amazing ski weekend in snowy Tahoe I returned home to start another round of Whole30. For some reason I keep returning to this way of eating. When I feel my body becoming sluggish or my clothes fitting tight it’s pretty easy to pinpoint all the margaritas, cheese, glasses of wine, fresh sourdough bread, and sugar that has crept back into my diet. Don’t get me wrong moderation is key to any healthy lifestyle, but constant indulgence isn’t sustainable for this girl.

Yesterday was the first day of my Whole30. Completely guilty of enjoying some Pancoast pizza the night before… I woke up feeling excited and ready to take on the challenge of another Whole30. Last week I bought a new notebook and a small 99 cent calendar from Target. For some reason small things like this make getting organized feel a whole lot easier. I started this Whole30 by recording all my measurements in my new journal: weight, chest, waist, hips, right thigh, left thigh, right arm, and left arm.img_1781

 

I also wrote down my goals for this Whole30.

{My goals}

3 meals a day and do my best to eliminate snacks between meals

Increase energy

Improve sleep

Eat more vegetables

Appreciate every bite

Self-esteem from self-discipline

Hormone regulation

Decrease bloating and inflammation

Improve moods

3-4 workouts each week

Limit nuts and prosciutto

I still need to take “before” pictures (front, back, right side, left side, face), but so far so good. I’m going to keep a daily journal that will include sleep, activity, random thoughts, and my meals. Here’s what I wrote down yesterday:

DAY 1 1/18/16

{Sleep} 10:30PM-8:00AM

8:30AM Started the morning with lemon water and a probiotic

{M1} 11:00 AM 1 Trader Joe’s spicy italian chicken sausage, 1/2 zucchini, onions, peppers, grape tomatoes all cooked in 1 teaspoon of Tin Star ghee

 

{M2} 1:30PM I was feeling pretty hungry and had a headache (maybe from the lack of caffeine) had some more lemon water. Leftover thai turkey meatballs, zucchini, frozen stir fry vegetables and some Trader Joe’s cauliflower rice.

{Snack} At around 5:30PM I was feeling hungry after a long day of grocery shopping and cleaning. Ate some dried, unsweetened persimmons and sliced hearts of palm before my workout.

{Activity} 6:30PM Orange Theory Fitness 60 minute workout

{M3} 8:30PM Shrimp Pad Thai recipe from Balanced Bites and a Hint blackberry water

 

I definitely felt proud of myself for having a great workout and a successful first day. I swear the hardest part of doing a Whole30 is just getting started!

Leave a Reply

